Hardly Art
Credit: Photo Credit: Jesse Clark

“Lala Lala’s songs needle and probe: they’re emotional, sure, but they’re also exacting, and that’s why they can feel so visceral.” - The FADER

“Each of the singles in the lead-up have been an absolute thrill… This is some of the best music of the year.” - Paste

“I Want The Door To Open ​​feels like a celebration of community, camaraderie, and world-building, awash in glossy bombast and existential urgency.” - Chicago Reader

Lala Lala, the project of Chicago-based musician Lillie West, has released her new album, I Want The Door To Open, this Friday on Hardly Art. 

Following 2018’s acclaimed The Lamb, West wanted to make something sonically bigger and thematically more outward-looking than anything she’d done before; a record that would be more like a poem or a puzzle box, with sonic and lyrical clues that would allow the listener to, as the title says, open the door to the greater meaning of those struggles. The resulting I Want The Door To Open is a bold exploration of persona and presence from an artist questioning how to be herself fully in a world where the self is in constant negotiation. 

To celebrate the release of I Want The Door To Open, West will play a string of shows, including a release day performance at Chicago’s Thalia Hall this Friday and Los Angeles and New York dates later this month. Following a European run in early 2022, West will return stateside and continue to tour. 

Lala Lala Tour Dates

Fri. Oct. 8 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *

Wed. Oct. 13 - Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room ^

Wed. Oct. 20 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg!

Thu. Jan. 27, 2022 - Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso Noord

Fri. Jan. 28, 2022 - Groningen, NE @ Vera

Sat. Jan. 29, 2022 - Brugge, BE @ Cactus at Villa Bota

Sun. Jan. 30, 2022 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Rotonde)

Tue. Feb. 1, 2022 - Köln, DE @ Baumann & SOHN

Wed. Feb. 2, 2022 - Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain

Thu. Feb. 3, 2022 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Sat. Feb. 5, 2022 - Göteborg, SE @ Oceanen

Sun. Feb. 6, 2022 - Oslo, NO @ Internasjonalen

Mon. Feb. 7, 2022 - Stockholm, SE @ Hus 7

Tue. Feb. 8, 2022 - Malmö, SE @ Plan B

Wed. Feb. 9, 2022 - Copenhagen, DK @ Vega at Ideal Bar

Fri. Feb. 11, 2022 - Prague, CZ @ Underdogs’

Sat. Feb. 12, 2022 - Schorndorf, DE @ Club Manufaktur

Sun. Feb. 13, 2022 - Freiburg, DE @ Swamp

Mon. Feb. 14, 2022 - Yverdon-les-Bains, CH @ L’Amalgame

Wed. Feb. 16, 2022 - Zürich, CH @ Rote Fabrik

Thu. Feb. 17, 2022 - Annecy, FR @ Festival Hors-Pistes

Fri. Feb. 18, 2022 - Metz, FR @ Aérogare

Sat. Feb. 19, 2022 - Lille, FR @ l’Aéronef

Sun. Feb. 20, 2022 - Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store

Mon. Feb. 21, 2022 - London, UK @ Moth Club

Wed. Feb. 23, 2022 - Leeds, UK @ Hyde Park Book Club

Thu. Feb. 24, 2022 - Glasgow, UK @ Nice N Sleazy

Fri. Feb. 25, 2022 - Manchester, UK @ YES

Sat. Feb. 26, 2022 - Bristol, UK @ Strange Brew

Mon. Feb. 28, 2022 - Paris, FR @ La Boule Noire

Sat. Mar. 12 - Omaha, NE @ Slowdown

Mon. Mar. 14 - Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge

Tue. Mar. 15 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court

Wed. Mar. 16 - Boise, ID @ Neurolux

Fri. Mar. 18 - Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile (Second Stage)

Sat. Mar. 19 - Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret

Sun. Mar. 20 - Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios

Tue. Mar. 22 - Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club

Fri. Mar. 25 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar

Sat. Mar. 26 - Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress

Sun. Mar. 27 - Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Mon. Mar. 28 - Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf

Wed. Mar. 30 - Austin, TX @ The Parish

Thu. Mar. 31 - Fort Worth, TX @ Tulips

Sat. Apr. 2 - Indianapolis, IN @ HI-FI

Sun. Apr. 3 - Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo Coffee

Wed. Apr. 13 - Davenport, IA @ Raccoon Motel

Thu. Apr. 14 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry

Fri. Apr. 15 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon

Sat. Apr. 16 - Urbana, IL @ Rose Bowl Tavern

Sun. Apr. 17 - Nashville, TN @ High Watt

Tue. Apr. 19 - Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5

Wed. Apr. 20 - Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall

Fri. Apr. 22 - Philadelphia, PA @ The Foundry

Sat. Apr. 23 - Woodstock, NY @ Colony

Sun. Apr. 24 @ Washington, DC @ Black Cat

Wed. Apr. 27 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair

Thu. Apr. 28 - Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place

Fri. Apr. 29 - Toronto, ON @ The Garrison

Sat. Apr. 30 - Hamtramck, MI @ Outer Limits Lounge


* = w/ Divino Niño & Kara Jackson

^ = Baths (DJ Set) & Fashion Club

! = Salt Cathedral & Crosslegged