Hardly Art
Los Angeles has often been described as a “dream factory”–both a mecca where dreamers converge to pursue long-held aspirations, and a topography of hallucinogenic contradictions: enchanting tangerine sunsets diffused by smog, crystal-clutching spiritualists mingling with deep-pocketed narcissists, rows of scenic palms competing with garish billboards for commuters’ attention.

It was against this backdrop that the four members of La Luz–singer/guitarist Shana Cleveland, drummer Marian Li Pino, keyboardist Alice Sandahl, and bassist Lena Simon–conceived of Floating Features, the band’s third studio album. For this, their most ambitious release yet, La Luz consulted landscapes both physical and psychological. 

References to dreams abound on Floating Features. “Loose Teeth” catalyzes nightmare fuel into a propulsive, intentionally-disorienting collision of honeyed harmonies and Takeshi Terauchi-esque jetstreams of distorted surf guitar. “Mean Dream” unsurprisingly mines dreamstate imagery, and the lyrics and melody for “Walking Into the Sun” actually came to Cleveland during a particularly-vivid night of deep sleep. Looming over the album’s coterie of surreal figures (gargantuan cicadas, a monstrous “Creature,” The Sun King, aliens, the titular “Lonely Dozer”) is the magnificent “Greed Machine,” a skulking, insatiable engine of consumption–Nathanael West’s “business of dreams” fearsomely manifested.

To bring these visions to stereophonic life, La Luz pivoted from the DIY trailer-park brio of It’s Alive and the gritted-up urgency of Weirdo Shrine toward lush, hi-fidelity production value. Li Pino’s drums have never sounded more thunderously muscular, Simon’s basslines more robust-yet-agile, Sandahl’s organ melodies more complementary, Cleveland’s layers of guitar more versatile, or the group’s trademark harmonies more bewitching and rapturous. For every one of Floating Features’ seismic crescendos, there are just as many small, evocative details coloring its somnambulist soundscape.

Only La Luz could conjure up Floating Features’ Leone-on-LSD vibes, and the album finds the L.A. band at the height of their powers–golden rebels in a golden dream.

Videos

On Tour

  • Thu, Apr 26
    Barracuda
    Austin, TX
    (Levitation Fest)
  • Fri, May 11
    Rickshaw Stop
    San Francisco, CA
    (w/ Ancient Forest) Tickets
  • Sat, May 12
    Rickshaw Stop
    San Francisco, CA
    (w/ Ancient Forest) Tickets
  • Sun, May 13
    The Miniplex
    Arcata, CA
    (w/ Ancient Forest)
  • Mon, May 14
    Eugene, OR
    (w/ Ancient Forest) Tickets
  • Wed, May 16
    Biltmore Cabaret
    Vancouver, Canada
    (w/ Ancient Forest)
  • Thu, May 17
    Seattle, WA
    (w/ Savila, Ancient Forest) Tickets
  • Fri, May 18
    The Vera Project
    Seattle, WA
    (All ages w/ Ancient Forest, Savila) Tickets
  • Fri, May 18
    KEXP
    Seattle, WA
    (Live in-studio, 12pm PT)
  • Sat, May 19
    Portland, OR
    (w/ Savila) Tickets
  • Sun, May 20
    The Shakedown
    Bellingham, WA
    (w/ Savila) Tickets
  • Tue, May 22
    The Olympic
    Boise, ID
    (w/ Savila) Tickets
  • Wed, May 23
    Salt Lake City, UT
    (w/ Savila) Tickets
  • Thu, May 24
    Hodi's Half Note
    Ft. Collins, CO
    (w/ Savila) Tickets
  • Fri, May 25
    Denver, CO
    (w/ Savila) Tickets
  • Sat, May 26
    Albuquerque, NM
    (w/ Savila)
  • Mon, May 28
    O'Leavers
    Omaha, NE
    (w/ The Whiffs) Tickets
  • Wed, May 30
    St. Louis, MO
    (w/ The Whiffs) Tickets
  • Thu, May 31
    Subterranean
    Chicago, IL
    (w/ Gymshorts) Tickets
  • Fri, Jun 1
    Do Division Festival
    Chicago, IL
    (w/ Bad Bad Hats, PEEL)
  • Sat, Jun 2
    Pyramid Scheme
    Grand Rapids, MI
    (w/ Gymshorts) Tickets
  • Sun, Jun 3
    Toronto, Canada
    (w/ Gymshorts) Tickets
  • Mon, Jun 4
    L'Esco
    Montreal, Canada
    (w/ Gymshorts) Tickets
  • Tue, Jun 5
    SPACE
    Portland, ME
    (w/ Gymshorts) Tickets
  • Wed, Jun 6
    Once Ballroom
    Boston, MA
    (w/ Gymshorts)
  • Fri, Jun 8
    Public Arts
    New York, NY
    (w/ Gymshorts) Tickets
  • Sat, Jun 9
    Brooklyn, NY
    (Northside Festival) Tickets
  • Sun, Jun 10
    Philadelphia , PA
    (w/ Timothy Eerie) Tickets
  • Mon, Jun 11
    Songbyrd Music House & Record Cafe
    Washington DC,
    (w/ Timothy Eerie) Tickets
  • Tue, Jun 12
    Durham, NC
    (w/ Timothy Eerie) Tickets
  • Wed, Jun 13
    The Earl
    Atlanta, GA
    (w/ Timothy Eerie) Tickets
  • Thu, Jun 14
    Root
    Jacksonville, FL
    (w/ Timothy Eerie)
  • Fri, Jun 15
    Santos
    New Orleans, LA
    (w/ Timothy Eerie)
  • Tue, Jun 19
    San Antonio, TX
    (w/ Summer Twins) Tickets
  • Wed, Jun 20
    The Monarch
    El Paso, TX
    (w/ Summer Twins)
  • Thu, Jun 21
    Club Congress
    Tucson, AZ
    (w/ Summer Twins) Tickets
  • Fri, Jun 22
    Los Angeles, CA
    (w/ Summer Twins) Tickets
  • Sat, Sep 1
    Soundrive Festival
    Gdansk, Poland
  • Tue, Sep 4
    Plan B
    Portland, OR
  • Wed, Sep 5
    Oslo, Norway
  • Thu, Sep 6
    Melodybox
    Stockholm, Sweden
  • Fri, Sep 7
    Pustervik
    Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Sat, Sep 8
    Loppen
    Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Mon, Sep 10
    Kohi
    Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Tue, Sep 11
    Zurich , Switzerland
  • Wed, Sep 12
    Montpellier, France
  • Thu, Sep 13
    Gambeat Festival
    Barcelona, Spain
  • Fri, Sep 14
    GetMAD
    Madrid, Spain
  • Tue, Sep 18
    Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Wed, Sep 19
    Bern, Switzerland
  • Thu, Sep 20
    Paris, France
  • Fri, Sep 21
    Angers, France
  • Sat, Sep 22
    Brussels, Belgium
  • Mon, Sep 24
    Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Tue, Sep 25
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Wed, Sep 26
    Brudenell Social Club
    Leeds, United Kingdom
  • Thu, Sep 27
    The Dome
    London, United Kingdom
  • Fri, Sep 28
    Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Sat, Sep 29
    Brighton, United Kingdom
  • Mon, Oct 1
    Bumann & Sohn
    Cologne, Germany
  • Tue, Oct 2
    Berlin, Germany
  • Wed, Oct 3
    Dresden, Germany
  • Thu, Oct 4
    Hamburg, Germany
  • Fri, Oct 5
    Vera
    Groningen, Netherlands
  • Sat, Oct 6
    Paradiso (Upstairs)
    Amsterdam, Netherlands